top of page

Good reads

Follow me

Share it

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureAshley Weiss

How To Be Content

Updated: Jun 30, 2018

A recent lesson I learned is what it means to be content. I never really gave it a second thought but that little word means so much. I've seen families and individuals run themselves ragged trying to be happier, have more stuff, have more time. I never thought that how someone was treating me also falls under contentment. As I sit here watching my children swim on the pool I wonder, “How content am I with how I am being treated?”


I think about how much they love me and how much my husband loves me and I am happy, but for a moment. I wish. I wish it were more. I know my hubby loves me but for some reason my brain tells me not enough. Why am not content with HOW he loves me? This causes me unnecessary anxiety.


Proverbs 17:22 A joyful heart is good medicine,

Psalm 127:2 It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil…


I find myself asking him silly questions and imagining what he is thinking. I do not ask him what goes on in his mind I assume. I JUST KNOW what he is thinking. He is my husband so I must know all his thought after all right? Which is silly because this just puts me in such a negative mood I am not very pleasant to be around and he thinks I'm sad.


James 4:1-2 What causes quarrels and what causes fights among you? Is it not this, that your passions are at war within you? You desire and do not have, so you murder. You covet and cannot obtain, so you fight and quarrel. You do not have, because you do not ask.

I am determined to stop this behavior and to be more content! I am loved by both my spouse and my children.


Psalm 131:2 But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me. Proverbs 17:22 A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones. I will not give myself over to the enemy.


Proverbs 30:8 Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, Psalm 55:22 Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.



Contentment is not something that must be searched for and found. It is an attitude of the heart.

Once the attitude has been modified and all has been transferred to God, contentment will be evident. www.desiringgod.org/articles/the-secret-to-peace-and-contentment contrary to popular opinion, being content does not mean being satisfied where you are. Rather, it is knowing God's plan for your life, having a conviction to live it, and believing that God's peace is greater than the world's problems. https://www.focusonthefamily.com/lifechallenges/managing-money/breaking-free-from-debt/learning-contentment


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page