top of page

Good reads

Follow me

Share it

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureAshley Weiss

Faith Over Friends

You've got a friend in me. Well not really. I didn’t set out on the journey to find the right friends originally. I honestly never gave it a second thought I never thought my beliefs would ever dictate WHO I was friends with. Yet, one day while out and about it hit me. I can’t be friends with you.


Do not be yoked together with unbelievers.

We are just to different and we want different things. When we met we clicked and it was amazing and I loved you. I’ve loved every friend I have ever had fiercely. Each one of my past friends meant the world to me, but sadly as I grew we grew apart.


I couldn’t explain it. I don’t know why it happened. I just knew it was over. I couldn't explain to them or myself why I stopped talking to them. I didn't understand why when I went to reach out nothing came to mind. Until one evening while reading the Bible I came across Matthew 7:6


“Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.”

When I read it hit me I asked myself, “Is this what I have been doing every time I share my faith with you?.”


When Jesus uses the terms dogs and swine he is referring to those who would ridicule, reject, and blaspheme the gospel once it is presented to them. Repeatedly sharing the gospel with someone who continually scoffs and ridicules Christ is like casting pearls before swine. A person who hears the word of God will either keep it for but a moment only to return to their sinful ways or they will disregard what was just said.(2 Peter 2:22) reminds us that “A dog returns to its vomit,” and, “A sow that is washed returns to her wallowing in the mud.” Once I read that I realized I was doing this. This was happening and I finally understood why I needed to drop out.


I can’t grow as a Christian if I am continually yoked to those who aren’t growing with me. I need to find my iron (Proverbs 27:17). When believers are involved in one another's lives, mutual edification occurs.” The Compelling Truth


Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? What harmony is there between Christ and Belial(Satan)? Or what does a believer have in common with an unbeliever? (2 Corinthians 6:14-15)


Changing my group of friend hurt not only me but them as well. They may not understand and become angry but I have to do what is right. There are things we as Christians take into account when making friends. For me Proverbs provides a great list of things to look for in what you do and do not want in a friend.

One who is righteous is a guide to his neighbor, but the way of the wicked leads them astray. (Proverbs 12:26) Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm. (Proverbs 13:20) A dishonest man spreads strife, and a whisperer separates close friends. (Proverbs 16:28) Make no friendship with a man given to anger, nor go with a wrathful man, lest you learn his ways and entangle yourself in a snare. (Proverbs 22:24-25)


Changing the dynamic takes time and prayer. I have to remind myself to walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time. Asking for God to make my speech always gracious, seasoned with salt, so that [I] may know how [I] ought to answer each person. (Colossians 4:5-6)


However, If anyone will not listen to your words, Shake the Dust off your feet (Matthew 10:14). This means wash your hands of it or move on. Pigs do not appreciate pearls and some people don't appreciate what Christ has done for them. When it becomes apparent that the gospel is not welcome, we are to move on. We are responsible to share the good news; we are not responsible for people’s response to the good news. We are not to expose the gospel of Jesus Christ to those who have no other purpose than to trample it and return to their own evil ways. We can identify such people through discernment, which is given in some measure to all Christians (1 Corinthians 2:15–16). Do not waste good things on people who will not appreciate them.


This isn’t to say that cutting them off and forgetting I had a past is in the works, no, not at all. I will continue to love them the way God loves them, but I will be more careful with how I share that part of me.


John 15:12-15 “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.
1 Corinthians 10:27 If one of the unbelievers invites you to dinner and you are disposed to go, eat whatever is set before you without raising any question on the ground of conscience.
1 Peter 4:8 Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins.
22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page