top of page

Good reads

Follow me

Share it

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureAshley Weiss

3 Little Things

On this journey I have learned SO many things. One of the many things I have learned is that I need to take care of me.


By taking care of me first I am more likely to be relaxed, calm, and happy. I am discovering that if I do at least three things a day my time has multiplied. Funny right? It is hard to explain. If I take time to focus on me it's like I found more time in the day. I get more things done! I find that because I am happy and relaxed I able to complete more things through out the day. I am not irritated or tired I will gladly finish all the 'chores' required of me.



I have been doing 3 things every day that make me happy for 20 plus days. Not only has my time expanded but my family is happier! They see me laughing and playing and they are in turn are laughing and playing. It's like an infection is spreading! The best part is, while I am watching my friends and family get infected with happiness their happiness makes me even happier!


One of my all time favorite things I discovered I like to do is prank my husband AND kids. Let me tell you I am having so much fun! So far I have saran wrapped my husband's underwear and put confetti in the air vent in his car. The kids have found their beds covered in cotton balls and orajel on their toothbrushes! So. Much. Fun!!


Growing up I was always told, “No.”, “Stop that.”, “You are to old to act that way.” So I stopped playing. I stopped goofing off and participating in ‘childish’ behavior. This caused me to feel embarrassed and to develop a fear of being laughed at. Therefore I missed out on SO much. I never did any of the fun stuff you hear of kids doing. I never did anything. It caused me to be such a boring person. I looked at my childhood friends with disdain for their silly behavior. Such a sad way to live, really.


The funny thing is I try so hard NOT to do that to my children. I let them be silly and goofy, but I never let go fully and joined in. Not until I learned the little skill of self care did I finally let go.

Just 3 things a day that make me happy. It was so hard at first to find out what exactly made me happy. I mean why not I hadn't done that in… YEARS. It took some quiet time but I learned the best way to find silly, goofy, and happy was to watch my kids. Who better to teach me how to be playful, right?!


Today I know what makes me happy and I don't care if I look silly. I am here tell you there is no age limit on being goofy and silly. Let go and find out what makes you happy. Find 3 things a day that truly bring peace to your soul and bring a smile to your face. You and your family will love you even more for it.


What does self care look or feel like? For me it is something that puts a smile on my face. Yeah, sure I get quiet time but that gives me peace. For me, self care is something that makes me happy and makes me feel joyful.


A joyful heart is good medicine (Proverbs 17:22). Self care is a way to find a way to Rejoice always (1 Thessalonians 5:16) thus giving me a glad heart and a cheerful face.(Proverbs 15:13)


So I challenge you. For the next 10 days do 3 things that make YOU happy. If this is hard for you to do try to channel your inner child or go watch your kids play. They really are the best teachers. You can do this.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page