top of page

Good reads

Follow me

Share it

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureAshley Weiss

Prayer for Self Control

Lord, I know it is your will that I should avoid sexual immorality, that I should learn to control my own body in a way that is holy and honorable, not in passionate lust like the pagans, who do not know you. (1 Thessalonians 4:3-5) I am taught, with regard to my former way of life to put off my old self, which was corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of my mind; and to put on the new self, created to be like you, God, in true righteousness and holiness.(Ephesians 4:22-24)


I know if I live according to the flesh, I will die; but if by the spirit I put to death the misdeeds of the body, I will live. If I am led by the Spirit of God I am YOUR child. The Spirit I received does not make me a slave, so that I live in fear again; rather, the Spirit I received brought about my adoption into daughter-ship. And by you I will cry, “Abba, Father.”(Romans 8:13-15)


So I am putting aside the deeds of darkness and putting on the armor of light. Let me behave decently, as in the daytime… not in sexual immorality and debauchery… Rather, clothing myself with you the Lord Jesus Christ, and not to think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh. (Romans 13:12-16) I will be wise and fear the Lord and shun evil, (Proverbs 14:16) I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave..(1 Corinthians 9:27) I know the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach me all things and will remind me of everything HE has said to you. (John 14:26)



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page